05 – Enhancement Cards

(Portions of pg. 120-122 – Masterbook)

This section contains the information that players will use when they play their cards. All of the enhancements and subplots are explained in alphabetical order below.

Action Cards

By playing an action card, the player can add +1 pip to all skill or Attribute rolls for the rest of that round. This includes actions, Attribute rolls, and damage rolls. The card can be played after the player has rolled the dice, but it must be played before the player knows the result of an action.

Note that the action card modifies all actions, including involuntary ones. A +1 applies to the character’s Strength roll for purposes of resisting damage as well as any conscious actions performed. The card is discarded at the end of the combat round during which it is played.

Outside of combat, the action card can only be used to modify one action, or all the actions that are part of a multi-action (though those rules are seldom used outside of combat). See Masterbook pg. 120 for specific examples.

Adrenaline Cards

These cards add +1D to the action value of any one Dexterity, or Strength skill or Attribute total or roll. When playing the card, the player must state which Attribute or skill roll he wishes to affect.

A character who uses an adrenaline card to increase his Strength to resist damage from one attack does not apply that +1D when another character hits him, even in the same round.

Breakthrough

Using the breakthrough card, the player can add +1D to any one skill total in which the character has no skill dice. For example, if a character does not have the medicine skill, the player can play the breakthrough card to increase the medicine skill total by +1D and roll as if he was trained in medicine. This card cannot modify a skill total that the character has skill dice in.

Claim

The player who throws the claim card may take the top card on the Action card discard pile in exchange for this one. The top card then goes into the player’s hand.

Double Cross

A character who wishes to betray his party or one of his party members may play the double cross card to add +3D to any one action. The action should be taken to the detriment of another player character, and the player using the card must state what single value he wishes to affect when he plays the card. It is left to the GM to decide on the Dark Force penalties, but it is recommended to be lenient when this card is played.

Unlike other cards, the double cross card does not have to be played into the pool during combat – it can be played directly from the player’s hand at any time.

Drama

This card maybe spent as a Force Point during an adventure or turned in for three character points at any time. If spent to gain character points, the character discards the drama card and adds three to the total number of character points he has. This has no immediate affect on the number of skill dice the character has since the character cannot normally learn or improve skills during an adventure.

Effect

This card can be played to add +2 to the effect value of any action or any rolled value involved in an opposed roll. This includes the damage value of an attack or the skill roll if used to increase the effect of an action that has its own effect value (effectively increasing result points for things such as taunt, intimidate, persuasion, etc.). The effect in question must be declared upon throwing the card. The card must be played before the results of the action have been interpreted. See Masterbook pg. 120 for specific examples.

Haste

When this card is played, the character may immediately perform one extra action. This card may not be used to interrupt an action already in progress. Same as Masterbook.

Hero

This card can be played as a Force Point but can not be exchanged as characters points.

Idea

When a player throws this card, he may ask a question of the GM regarding the development of the storyline, and the gamemaster should provide related hints that help the players move the plot along. The GM has sole judgement over what hints are appropriate. The hints should be acquired in some way through the storyline, like previously unmentioned contacts, or a relation to the story previously unexplored. Used the same as Masterbook. See Masterbook pg. 121 for specific examples.

Leadership

By using leadership, the player who throws this card may play up to two cards (total) into one or two other players’ pools and/or draw two cards into his hand from the Action Deck. These cards can be given from the character’s hand, his pool, or a combination of both. Used the same as Masterbook.

Opponent Fails

After an opponent or enemy has completed an action against the cardholder’s character, this card may be played to cancel the effects entirely. The action then fails, and play continues. This card may not be played to cancel an action that is not directed at least partially at the cardholders The gamemaster has sole judgement over when this card can be played and how it works into the story. Used the same as Masterbook. See Masterbook pg. 121 for specific examples.

Presence

These cards add +1D to the action value of any one Knowledge or Perception skill or Attribute roll. When playing the card, the player must state which skill or Attribute he wishes to affect. The card can only modify one number value per play.

Rally

When a character plays the rally card, all players (including the one who played the card) may draw one card each into their pools. Used the same as Masterbook.

Second Chance

Playing this card allows the character to attempt any action he has just tried again, from the very beginning. The character merely gets another chance, immediately following the first attempt, to perform the action again. All effects from the first attempt are negated. Used the same as Masterbook.

Seize Initiative

By playing this card, the player may either flip over a new card onto the initiative stack or keep the card on the top of the stack for another round. The card must be played either at the beginning of the round or before the beginning of the next round respectively. It may not be played during a round in which the card holder’s character is confused. This card cannot be used outside of combat.

Supporter

To play the supporter card, the character must be trying to help someone else – but no action need be attempted or used in this support. The “help” should be described in roleplaying terms as the card is being thrown. It adds an automatic +1D to the bonus number of any other character’s action during the same round – but must be thrown as the other character is performing the action. The card adds to both the skill use and the effect (if any).

Willpower

These cards add +1D to the action value of any one Mechanical or Technical skill or Attribute roll. When playing the card, the player must state which Attribute or skill total he wishes to affect. The card can only modify one number value per play.

(Visited 9 times, 1 visits today)
Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*